The Butterfly

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Rhapsody of Art

I can finally breathe a sigh of relief that this sketch is complete. In early march of this year, one night I was having a bout of insomnia. For the umpteenth time, I am not an insomniac! But it was one of those nights when I just couldn’t fall asleep. So after thrashing about for an hour or so I decided enough was enough, and I wasn’t even going to bother sleeping now. I pulled out my laptop and searched up an awesome piece of photography I found in DeviantArt (as usual, my olde hunting spot). I drew four hours straight, and finished sketching the base and did a part of the shading. For those who never had a ’bout’ of insomnia, it is like you think you spent twenty minutes doing something but then you check the watch and three to four hours had passed. But after this, I was so taken up with the hectic schedule of the college that I just couldnt find time to finish the work. In may, now that my exam and everything is over, I sat down and finished the job.

This sketch was a no-holds-barred pencil job. I used every grade of pencil, starting from 2H to charcoal. This is quite unusual compared to my conservative way of using at most four grades on any sketch piece. It was due in most part to the photo that I was using, it had a lot of different grades of shade.

Despite the fact that this was lying around for two months till i finished it, if you add up all the time I spent on it, it will probably come up to around five to six hours. I need practice.

The model in the picture goes by the DevID of se7eninone and her name is Monika, she is from Romania. You can find the picture I used as model here:

http://novogrond.deviantart.com/favourites/#/d2v3vx9

Note: “law of novogrond” is my signature. Don’t ask why and don’t ask what it is.

Just wondering – are all the Romanian girls this pretty?

Leave a Reply

